I finally have started reading a copy of Loving the Little Years By Rachel Jankovic. I am reading a copy on my computer (check out the free kindle app [you don’t even have to own a kindle!]. Also, the book price is cheaper if you order a kindle version) so I can grab snippets of her wisdom whenever I may have a free minute or two. Rachel blogs at Femina Girls (great resource btw) and is the mother of five kids under kindergarten age. Here is a few quotes I thumbed through today that were particularly challenging:

If there is anything I have learned from my fast and furious mothering journey, it is that there is only one thing in my entire life that must be organized[…] if organization and order can still be found in my attitude, we are doing well. But if my attitude falters even in the midst of external order, so does everything else.”

“But our children sin against us, annoy us, and mess up our stuff. We want to hold it against them, complain about them (if only to ourselves), and feel put upon by their sin. We have a much harder time accepting that every failure is from them is a wonderful opportunity for repentance and growth. It is not an opportunity to exact penance.

Oh if only I would organize the thoughts and attitudes in my heart before I organize my house. good words Rachel, good words. I’m hoping to share with you more of her book as I work through it. Let me know what you think if you decide to read it!

[photo courtesy]