[Photo Courtesy]

Yesterday I was reading a book which addressed the various diseases and colds prevalent among children. It discussed how to best prevent your children from getting sick but also referenced the statistics for how many children a year catch differenct infections. Needless to say, I was not dwelling in confidence of God’s sovereignity and goodness when I finished the chapter! I love to rest in a quote from Carolyn Mahaney on trusting God. She says,

A woman came up to me at a party last week, and after we chatted for a minute, she said: “My friend told me about something she heard you say once, and I wondered if it was true.”
 
I knew where she was going. I get this question with curious regularity.
 
“Did you say that your biggest regret as a mother was that you didn’t trust God more?”
 
Yes, I told her, it’s true. I wish I had trusted God more.

As I wrote in our book Girl Talk:

“For every fearful peek into the future, I wish I had looked to Christ instead. For each imaginary trouble conjured up, I wish I had recalled the specific, unfailing faithfulness of God. In place of dismay and dread, I wish I had exhibited hope and joy. I wish I had approached mothering like the preacher Charles Spurgeon approached his job: ‘forecasting victory, not foreboding defeat.”

What mothering fears have you battled lately? Whether you are pregnant with your first child or trying to steer your youngest child through the teenage years, temptations to fear (or to its opposite: self reliance) litter the mothering landscape.
 
Here at girltalk we’re beginning a new series: A Mother’s Trust. To be honest, we’re doing this for ourselves as much as for you. But we hope it serves you to listen in as we preach God’s truth to our souls.

Wow, what encouragement! Feel free to check out girltalkblog for more of the series on a Mother’s Trust!

What are your fears? What truth do you focus on filling your mind with? Feel free to comment!

