I love wisdom. As I am a younger mother, I try to be a sponge and soak up the Biblical truths I see modeled by older women.

Titus 2:3-5 [Amplified version] states,

3Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. 4Then they can train the younger women to love their husbands and children, 5to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.

The instructor’s wife of my marriage and family class  is one of these women with whom I love seeking counsel. I thought I would let you all benefit from these practical truths. One of the questions I recently asked her is as follows:

I have never been exposed to such a clean, calm, loving atmosphere of children other than yours [She has four].  I realize how crazy things can be sometimes. What is your secret? I want my kids to be like yours! I absolutely love being a mom, and hopefully the Lord will bless Shaun and I with more kiddos some day. How do I instill Godly principles in Augustine now, so that when other children come along it isn’t overwhelming, but enjoyable?

Her response:

“You are so kind to write me and encourage me. I guess the one thing I am always trying to do is to quote Scripture to them in a very casual way. For instance, when they begin to forget to be thankful for something, I gently remind them that they are to give thanks for all things. When we were sick one of them even asked, “Mom, should I be thankful for being sick?” I humbly told them, yes I think so. We can ask the Lord to help us see how we can be thankful in all things, even sickness, by asking him to allow us to draw even closer to him during this time of sickness. Or when they bicker, which they often do, we quote Eph. 4:32, “be kind to one another, tender hearted, forgiving one another even as Christ forgives you. . . . ”  They know that it is important to “do all things without complaining.”
Of course, I do not want them to only hear Scripture in a time when they are disobeying, so I try to remind them as enter the kitchen to do school on days when the sun is just brilliantly shining through the windows, “Aren’t you kids glad that God made the sun to shine on us? He is so good to us. I really like waking up to sunshine and fluffy clouds and knowing that God created them.”
All of this, day by day, moment by moment, line upon line, step by step interaction instills in them a love for their God, a desire to know more about who this is that mommy is always telling us about.
Recently we have begun with Johnathan and Laura (8 and 6 years old) to have them read 2 chapters a day through a specific book of the Bible. In January we read Genesis. February has us finishing Genesis and now reading Proverbs.

Mostly, I find myself relying more and more on prayer because I know that the Holy Spirit has to draw them unto himself. I do know that they know more about God and their Bible at their age than I ever thought about knowing then.

Joy, I am sure that you and Shaun are going to do a great job raising Augustine and future children God may give you. Wrap them in prayer and love. They will follow your leading. Let them see you daily going to the Father. And when you blow it, make sure they see you asking forgiveness from either them or others. It makes a lasting impression.”
Wow. What an example! What are your secrets for raising godly children? I hope this was an encouragement to you as much as it was to me.
Thanks for reading!
